Low Carb Product of the Day – Canderel Green

Canderel Green SteviaI’m always looking for new sweeteners to fool my sweet tooth and I’m excited to see a new Canderel on the market! This is marketed as a Stevia product, which is a non-nutritive sweetener often used for baking. Interestingly enough, the bulk of the product actually consists of erythritol, a sugar-alcohol similar to xylitol but BETTER.

From Wikipedia: “In the body, most of the erythritol is absorbed into the bloodstream in the small intestine, and then for the most part excreted unchanged in the urine. About 10% enters the colon.[5] Because 90% of erythritol is absorbed before it enters the large intestine, it does not normally cause laxative effects, as are often experienced after consumption of other sugar alcohols (such as xylitol and maltitol),[6] although extremely large doses can cause nausea and borborygmi.[7]

The reason I’m excited about this is because I’ve been trying to find erythritol in SA, but could only find Xylitol in the local shops. Also, I’ve heard that erythritol can “caramelize”, something I really need to experiment on. My first project will be this: Salted Peanut Caramel Clusters (low carb and gluten free). It sounds to good to be true!

Canderel Green Nutritional Info

How is there 2g of Carbs in a 1.5 g stick, I don’t know…
You might freak out when you see the 98% carbs like I did initially, but we need to remember that sugar alcohols are counted as carbs. These carbs are undigestible and will pass through your body with no impact on your blood sugar. Isn’t that just heavenly?

 

Let me know what you’re experience is with Canderel Green :)

3 thoughts on “Low Carb Product of the Day – Canderel Green

  1. Hi, just came across your blog, very cool :) About the canderel green, Stevia is used to make it. You can find 100% Stevia sweetner in liquid form or powder form at Dischem. It has 0 crabs (it really does). I use the liquid one to bake with.

    • Thanks for the comment and the useful links, James. I will definitely let you know, I’m always keeping my eyes open! Yeah, I’m not crazy about Stevia either, I find Xylitol much more palatable.

Leave a Reply

